Fresh Hop IPA and Salem Brewery Wrap Up

So it’s that time of the year again, time for fresh hop IPA’s.  As a brewer it’s time to connect with the hop farmers that supply us with a ingredient so fundamental to many of the ale and lager styles that we make.  A fresh hop IPA  incorporates freshly picked hops, due to storage issues hops are usually dried to preserve them, using freshly picked “wet hops” lends a more grassy bright hop flavor and aroma that beery geeks crave this time of year.  This year’s beer at Ice Harbor has 100lbs of Amarillo and Centennial hops per 10bbl batch for the flavor and aroma addition.  I will say that making a fresh hop ale is a real pain in the rear our brewing system is not designed to deal with whole hop flowers, we use pelletized hops, so it clogs up the transfer and at the end I have to climb into the kettle and shovel out all of the spent hops.  Anyway I hope it was all worth it so far a couple of days into fermentation the fresh hop ale is showing signs of greatness.

I want to thank everyone that chimed in regarding starting a brewery in Salem.  I had a feeling there would be a positive response and I know that I can count on a great deal of support from the community.  I’m still not clear on what direction I should go at this point, I know that all of you would rather see a brewpub as that would give you a place to hang out and have a good time, but I’m not throwing out the possibility of starting out as a brewery with a tasting room (would still be a place to hang out just wouldn’t be able to get a full meal). Money at this point is a huge road block so the cheaper I can keep this thing the better.  If anyone out there knows some people I should talk to by all means let me know, I really need to make some contacts with the community to make this a possibility.  Or maybe I should start a wood fired pizza food cart in Salem, who knows???

2 Responses

  1. Hey Adam- I had a colleague bring back a growler of the Fresh Hop IPA and it is fantastic. Nice blend of that wonderful earthy, resinous fresh hop flavor and some good base bitterness. I look forward to having some more in October at the brewery.

    Check out my thoughts on the first round of fresh hops in Portland at my blog. And when are you gonna add me to the blogroll???

    Cheers!

    • Sorry dude I hadn’t approved your post yet. I’ll put you on the blog roll as soon as I get off my ass and do another post, it’s been a while. Hope all is well with you and your family.

Leave a Reply

